• The author understands that a person grappling with the very difficult, often mind-numbing work of grief will appreciate a straight-forward reference
  • I would say this is a must-have book for every home.   Paul Partridge
  • I'm so glad to have such a wonderful resource as your book at my fingertips as to how to be a good friend  Brandi Crawford
  • There are so many roads one can more easily tread during and after reading it.
    Maria Pollard
  • It is a kind, thoughtful and really great tool...David M. Frees

More Reviews


The grieving process is not isolated to those who have lost a loved one.

Who grieves?

Any person who has suffered a loss.  A loss can be in the form of someone close to you passing away, it can be the loss of a relationship in the case of a divorce or a broken friendship.  People can grieve the loss of a treasured item or the loss of a bodily function due to accident or illness.

What are the stages of grief?

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance
  • Complicated grief

What to expect if you have suffered a loss.

If you have suffered the loss of any sort you will likely recognize a feeling of isolation.  This is common as everyone grieves in their own way and on their own schedule.  Know that not everyone expriences every stage of the grieving process and some stages may be more pronounced than others.  Your grief is you own, no one else has the exact same relationship with what has been lost as you do.  No one will know exactly how you feel.

The grieving process is actually an internal journey toward healing that you have to travel at your own pace and allow yourself to experience.  Rose Kennedy put it best;

     It has been said, 'time heals all wounds.' I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.

Back to Top